Sri Lanka observes 77th United Nations Day


COLOMBO – The United Nations Association of Sri Lanka (UNASL) conducted the National Observance of the 77th United Nations Day on Sunday,October 23 with the hoisting of the National Flag and United Nations Flag, at the Lakshman Kadirgamar Institute of International Relations and Strategic Studies Auditorium in Colombo.

The United Nations Flag was hoisted by the UNASL President Mohamed Zawahir while Association’s Past Vice President Dr. Dayantha Laksiri Mendis hoisted the National Flag.

Key Note Address delivered by UNASL Youth Forum President Rakeeb Zawahir and guest-of-honour Past Vice President of the UNASL and former Ambassador and UN Resident Representative in Vienna Dr. Dayantha Laksiri Mendis addressed the gathering.

The UNASL established in 1950 is a non-profit organization incorporated in the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and it counts over 70 years of active operations in the country.

The Association is the sole National Affiliate of the World Federation of the United Nations Association (WFUNA), which was founded in 1946 by Special Resolution 137 (1) of November 17, 1947, adopted at the United Nations General Assembly.

The activities of the UNASL involve taking the message of the United Nations to the grassroots of the Sri Lankan population, with the cooperation of the Foreign Ministry, the United Nations as well as the United Nations Information Centre.

The UNASL currently has over 1,800 members as well as 326 schools registered under an Islandwide UNASL Study Circles programme introduced in 1981 and is approved by the Education Ministry.

Ambassadors, High Commissioners and Representatives from many countries Russia, Switzerland, Indonesia, Brazil, Iran, Libya, Thailand, Japan, China, Nepal and Palestine were present.

Present on the occasion were also the Deputy Mayor of Colombo M.T.M. Iqbal, UNA -Sri Lanka Executive Chairman Dr. M.M.M. Rushanudeen, Treasurer Kumudu Weerasinghe, Editor and Asst. Treasurer Dharmadasa Vitharana, and several other exco members and invite