Annual General Meeting 2024-2025

The 74th Annual General Meeting of the United Nations Association of Sri Lanka was held on Sunday, 31st March 2024 at the UNASL National Secretariat in Panadura.

The following were unanimously elected to the National Executive Committee of the United Nations Association of Sri Lanka, for the fiscal year 2024/2025.

President : Mr. M. M. Zawahir
Chairman of the Executive Committee : Dr. M. M. M. Rushanudeen
Secretary-General : Mr. Errol Smith
Treasurer : Mr. Kumudu Weerasinghe
Editor & Assistant Treasurer : Mr. Dharmadasa Vitharana
Deputy Chairmen of the Ex-Co : (1) Mr. Sampath Priyankarara (2) Mr. M.D. Siriwardena

Vice Chairmen of the Ex-Co : (1) Mr. R. H. Ashoka Perera (2) Dr. Sarath Samarage (3) Dr. T. Anver Dole

Assistant Secretaries-General : (1) Dr. Upali Jayawardena (2) Ms. Panchali Rathnayake (3) Dr. H. Ravi Nagarajah (4) Mr. M.A. Rohan Fernando

Ordinary Ex-Co Members : (1) Mr. K. Ajitha Jayarathne (2) Mr. Arthula Kanagaratne (3) Ms. D.R.K. Wijewardana (4) Mr. Sanjeewa Peiris (5) Mr. M.W.Wimal Fernando (6) Mr. Kushan Fernando.

The AGM commenced with the hoisting of the National Flag and UNASL Flag by Mr. M.M Zawahir (President) and Mr. Errol Smith (Secretary-General), respectively. This was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the National Flag of Sri Lanka and the United Nations Flag.

One-minute silence was observed, as a mark of respect for those departed UNASL, WFUNA, UN Members as well as those affiliated and associated to the UN, Heads of State and Governments of UN Member-States, who have passed away and/or laid down their lives under the UN Flag), followed by the adoption of the Secretary-General’s Annual Report for 2023, and the adoption of the Treasurer’s Audited Annual Statement of Accounts for the year ended 2023.

Mr. Sumathi Fernando was unanimously elected Pro-tem Chairman. He conducted the Election for the office of President and announced the name of Mr. M.M. Zawahir as the duly elected President. Thereafter, the President took his oath of office before the pro-tem chairman.


The President Mr. Zawahir then took the chair and conducted the election of the other office bearers who were all unanimously elected to their respective positions on the Executive Committee of the Association. Those elected then took their oath of office before the President.

Speeches were delivered by the President, Mr. M.M. Zawahir and Secretary-General, Mr. Errol Smith, who also proposed the Vote of Thanks.

The meeting was then formally terminated, which was followed by music, networking, fellowship and lunch.

It is pertinent to mention that the United Nations Association in the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, short titled United Nations Association of Sri Lanka, is one of the oldest Non-Governmental Voluntary Service Organizations in Sri Lanka which was established on 19th August 1950 (five years before Sri Lanka was admitted as a Member State of the United Nations on 14th December 1955).

Significantly the UNA – SRI LANKA is an organization that has been authorized in writing, by the United Nations Office – Legal Affairs Division, to use the United Nations logo with the inscription “UNA – SRI LANKA” on the top of the said logo.

UN Association of Sri Lanka, which is a registered Non-Governmental Organization, is the sole National Affiliate of the World Federation of United Nations Associations (WFUNA), in Sri Lanka, which comprising over 100 member countries and was admitted as a member of WFUNA in 1951. The WFUNA being founded on 2nd August 1946 by Special Resolution 137 (1) of 17th November 1947, adopted at the United Nations General Assembly.

The activities of the UNA-SRI LANKA, involves, taking the message of the United Nations to the grassroots of the Sri Lankan population, with the co-operation of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the United Nations Development Program, which includes the United Nations Information Center in Colombo.

UNASL currently has over 2,000 members on roll, comprising Special Life, Life, Honorary Corporate, Complimentary and Honorary Members as well as 326 schools registered under an island wide UNASL Study Circles program introduced in 1981 and is approved by the Ministry of Education.

We also have a conferred category of membership known as “Diplomatic Membership” for Ambassadors and High Commissioners currently accredited to Sri Lanka. This program is in the process of being reactivated.

UNA-SRI LANKA, carries out numerous and significant activities includes its contribution towards maintaining peace and security, promoting human rights and democracy, preventive and curative health related activities which include screening and awareness programs on Diabetes and Vision, Environmental protection, Alleviation of Poverty, Economic development and the 17 Sustainable Development Goals.